Railways stuff

From the beginning of 1923 the railways in Great Britain, other than the Underground lines in London, were reorganised into 4 groups. This page gives some notes on them.

LNER North Eastern Railway
Great Eastern Railway
Great Northern Railway
Great Central Railway
Hull and Barnsley
North British
Great North of Scotland
26 companies
LMSR London and North Western Railway
Lancashire and Yorkshire (merged in 1921)
London, Tilbury, and Southend Railway (merged in 1919?)
Midland Railway
Caledonian Railway
Glasgow and South Western Railway
North Staffordshire
Furness Railway
Highland Railway
27 companies
GWR Great Western Railway
Cambrian Railway
5 other companies
26 companies
SR London and South Western Railway
London, Brighton, and South Coast Railway
South Eastern Railway (operated by the SECR)
London, Chatham, and Dover Railway (operated by the SECR)
South Eastern and Chatham Railway (owned by SER and LCDR)
14 companies

Back Back to the railways index. CDWF Back to Clive's home page.